When a user creates or edits content, they are automatically added to Participated content, which sends them notifications when any other user makes new changes to it. There are times when the user does not want to receive notifications for a document they previously created or edited.
Currently, it is not possible to remove content you have edited or created from Participated content. All modifiers and creators of the document get notifications every time the document gets updated. However, you can check who created or edited the document from "document link" > Actions > Manage Versions.
From this menu, we can check, restore, and remove archived versions. If we remove the versions that were edited or created by the user, the user will stop receiving the notifications, because they do not have a connection to this document anymore.
The workaround is to go to "document link" > Actions > Manage Versions and click Remove (red "x" button") to remove the versions of the documents created or edited by the user and stop all notifications for that user.
There is a feature request raised in JIVESPECS-1409 for users to be able to manage these notifications without using this temporary workaround.
The user does not receive notifications when a new change is made to the document.